Free Guided Walks

We are sorry to say that due to Covid-19 we will be postponing our walks’ schedule this year until safe to walk. Meanwhile stay safely indoors and we’ll see you on the other side.

As the museum is also closed if you would like to make contact with us on 07895565195 by text or call.  Also the usual Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or StadeWalks@gmail.com. It won’t be manned all of the time but someone will get back to you as soon as possible.

New schedule for 2020!!

The OHPS runs two walks guided by experienced volunteers:

The Old Town Walk which provides a fascinating tour of Hastings Old Town, with its wealth of medieval, Tudor and later historic buildings, twittens and cat creeps.

The Stade Walk explores the Stade Fishing Quarter at Rock a Nore and the history of our special sustainable fishing community, with its unique tall black Net Shops and a fishing history going back hundreds of years. The Stade is often called a ‘living museum’.

Old Town Guided Walks 2020

 

Meet at 2.30 pm (except where noted), at the TOP of the West Hill lift – the Upper Station TN34 3RD . (lower lift entrance is at the West end of George Street) PLEASE NOTE HASTINGS HAS TWO LIFTS SO ENSURE YOU ARE AT THE TOP OF THE LIFT WHERE HASTINGS CASTLE IS.

All Old Hastings Preservation Society [OHPS] walks are free, no pre-booking or tickets required but donations are welcomed.

 

Join us for a tour of Hastings Old Town, the premier ancient Cinque Port, with its wealth of historic buildings, twittens and cat-creeps. Find out why the celebrities of their day flocked to Hastings.

Old Hastings Preservation Society experienced volunteer guides lead all walks, which proceed gently downhill, but there are steps. Allow 2 hours. The walks are FREE, but please donate to the OHPS.

For more information and to book a private walk for groups of adults:

ohpswalks@gmail.com / 01424 461446

 

FREE Old Town Guided Walks 2020

May

Tues 5th May 2.30pm

Tues 12th May 2.30pm

Tues 19th May 2.30pm

Tues 26th May 2.30pm

June

Tues 2nd June 2.30pm

Tues 9th June 2.30pm

Tues 16th June 2.30pm

Tues 23rd June 2.30pm

Tues 30th June 2.30pm

July

Tues 7th July 2.30pm

Tues 14th July 2.30pm

Tues 21st July 2.30pm

Tues 28th July 2.30pm

August

Tues 4th August 2.30pm

Thurs 6th August 2.30pm

Tues 11th August 2.30pm

Thurs 13th August 2.30pm

Tues 18th August 2.30pm

Thurs 20th August 2.30pm

Tues 25th August 2.30pm

Thurs 27th August 2.30pm

September

Tues 1st September 2.30pm

Tues 8th September 2.30pm

Heritage Week Special Sat 12th September 2.30pm

Tues 15th September 2.30pm

October
Battle of Hastings Day Special

Wed 14th October 2.30pm

 

Stade Guided Walks 2020

All walks begin at 11:00am meeting outside the Fishermen’s Museum (inside if raining)

All Old Hastings Preservation Society [OHPS] walks are free, no pre booking or tickets required but donations are welcomed.

Join us for this fascinating tour of the Stade Fishing Quarter of Hastings Old Town. The walk can be over uneven ground but there are no hills or steps to climb. We can tailor the walk to your mobility needs or interest. The walks are led by experienced volunteer guides from the Fishermen’s Museum. These walks take about 60 to 90 minutes and are free but donations are welcomed and are used towards the upkeep of the Fishermen’s Museum which is a registered charity. 

Maximum 15 people – any groups must book in advance.

If a scheduled walk isn’t convenient for you, we may be able to arrange a private walk on a Thursday or Friday. 

For further details please contact the Fishermen’s Museum:

 stadewalks@gmail.com  01424 461446

 

FREE Stade Guided Walks 2020

All walks commence at 11am unless specified

Stade Walks 2020
 

Sat 11th April 11am – Easter CANCELLED

Sun 12th April 11am – EasterCANCELLED

Please contact Fri 8th May 11am – VE Day 

Mon 25th May 11am –May Bank Holiday

 

Sat 20th June 11am – Midsummer Fish Festival

Sun 21st June 11am – Midsummer Fish Festival

Sat 18th July 11am

Sat 1st August 11am – Old Town Carnival Week

Sun 2nd August 11am – Old Town Carnival Week

Mon 3rd August 11am – Old Town Carnival Week

Fri 7th August 11am – Old Town Carnival Week

Sat 8th August 11am – Carnival Day

 

Sat 19th September 11am – Seafood and Wine Festival

Sun 20th September 11am – Seafood and Wine Festival

Fri 11th September 11am – Heritage Open Days

Sat 12th September 11am – Heritage Open Days

Sat 10th October 11am – Hastings Week

Wed 14th October 11am – Hastings Day

Fri 16th October 11am –Hastings Week

Sat 17th October 11am – Hastings Week